BCSP wins 2015 PASOS Think-Tank Achievement of the Year Award

September 12, 2015

awards2015The Belgrade Centre for Security Policy (BCSP) was honored with the  2015 PASOS Think-Tank Achievement of the Year Award for its work organizing the Belgrade Security Forum, an annual gathering jointly initiated and designed by BCSP, the Belgrade Fund for Political Excellence (BFPE) and the European Movement in Serbia (EMinS), that brings together hundreds of leading experts and policymakers.

The annual award was announced at the PASOS General Assembly in Tirana, Albania, September 12.

At the 2014 Begrade Security Forum, more than 450 participants, including officials from national, foreign, and international institutions, independent experts, civil society organizations’ representatives, and the media, discussed a number of topics related to security and foreign policy of importance for Serbia, the region, and for the European Union.

“After four years, BSF has been able to attract attention from beyond the region and even beyond Europe but at the same time stay in close contact with local realities and use the international spotlight to mobilize local political elites to think in a larger context,” said awards juror Gabriela Svárovská (Dlouhá), former Director of Human Rights and Transition Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Czech Republic.

The PASOS Think-Tank Awards commend the work and achievements of members that demonstrate outstanding work to promote the values and goals of PASOS in promoting and protecting democracy, human rights and open society values – including the rule of law, good governance, and economic and social development.

Awards are given in two categories: Achievement of the Year and Best Policy Publication of the Year.  BCSP also won the award for Best Policy Publication for The Future of Civil Protection in North Kosovo. The paper presents an independent analysis of the current state of the Civil Protection (CP) units in the four municipalities which consti­tute North Kosovo, and suggests possible solutions for their future.

The winners were selected by a three-member jury of leading experts from the international think-tank world and experienced policymakers with a knowledge of the policy challenges facing young and aspiring democracies in Europe and Central Asia. The jurors are:

  • Bohdan Krawchenko, Director General, University of Central Asia
  • Kalman Mizsei, Head of EU Advisory Mission for Civilian Security Sector Reform, Ukraine (EUAM Ukraine), Adjunct Professor at the Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • Gabriela Svárovská (Dlouhá), former Director of Human Rights and Transition Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Czech Republic

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.