PASOS delegates reelect three board members

December 13, 2014

Image1Representatives of PASOS organisations re-elected three  members of the PASOS Board of Directors to new two-year terms.

Neža Kogovšek Šalamon, Piotr Kaźmierkiewicz and Andrew Cartwright were chosen by the members at the PASOS General Assembly in Warsaw December 13.

The PASOS Board of Directors is the decision-making body of the association. Consisting of a minimum of five and a maximum of seven members, board members are elected by the PASOS General Assembly for a two-year term.

The three will join four other members on the board of directors: Linda Austere of the Centre for Public Policy PROVIDUS and the Foreign Investors Council of Latvia; Borislav Mavrov of the European Institute, Bulgaria; Gjergji Vurmo of the Institute for Democracy and Mediation, Albania; and Olga Stuzhinskaya of the Office for a Democratic Belarus (ODB) in Brussels.

Biographies of the three reelected to the board in Warsaw can be read below:

Andrew Cartwright, a Research Fellow at the Central European University’s Center for Policy Studies, a PASOS member in Hungary. At CEU, Cartwright has been involved in research on the rural transition in several post-socialist countries, including the development of private land ownership in Mongolia, emerging land markets in Ukraine and Kazakhstan, rural civil society in Romania, the implementation of the EU’s cohesion policy in rural Hungary and most recently, the implications of demographic changes for rural land use in central and eastern Europe. He has been involved in promoting public policy teaching and research at CEU, mentoring on the Open Society Institute’s International Policy Fellowship  program, teaching Rural Development Policy since 2005 and mentoring MA and PhD students. He is the editor of the Policy Documentation Center  which is one of the largest online collections of policy papers from the former socialist countries.

Neža Kogovšek Šalamon is the director of the Peace Institute in Slovenia, a PASOS member.  She graduated in 2002 from the University of  Ljubljana, Faculty of Law. As a Ron Brown Fellow she obtained her master’s degree at the University of Notre Dame (USA) in international human rights law in 2004. In 2011 she defended her PhD dissertation at the University of Ljubljana Faculty of Law, on constitutional, international and comparative legal aspects of the erasure from the registry of permanent residents. Šalamon worked for the Legal Information Centre of Non-governmental Organizations – PIC in Ljubljana, and for the international non-governmental organization Human Rights Watch in New York. She is a member of the European network of legal experts in the anti-discrimination field, European network of immigration law practitioners (MigNet), European commission on sexual orientation law (ECSOL) and Odysseus academic network of experts in the field of asylum and migration. She is also a member of the Ethics Committee of the Association of Journalists of Slovenia.

Piotr Kaźmierkiewicz, a policy analyst at the Institute of Public Affairs in Warsaw, a member of the PASOS network of think-tanks. A political scientist, graduate of Southern Oregon University and Central European University, he is author and editor of publications related to European development policy, East European migration trends and policy, relations between the EU and Eastern Partnership states, and future EU enlargement. He is a policy analysis trainer and consultant with a record of collaboration with PASOS, Open Society Foundations, the European Commission, the United Nations Development Programme, and the International Organization for Migration. He has written and co-written numerous publications for PASOS, including The Road to an Open Europe and The Right Approach to Europe. An Advocacy Handbook for Civil Society: Understanding and Influencing EU Policymaking.


Related articles

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.